YVLGA President's Page

  Mrs Jo Somers, Alwoodley Golf Club, President of Yorkshire Vets 2018 & 2019
wishes all YVLGA Members happy and good golf





Carol Atack (Garforth GC) - President 2016 & 2017

President's Trophy
Presented by Mrs. Nan Hirst (Meltham) the first President of the YVLGA 2001-2003
A team event to be played at the President's home club

                           L - Winners Malton & Norton - Liz Jones, Carol Simpson & Judy Butler with The President Carol Atack
                                                                               C - President's Trophy
                                                                                     R - Prize Table

           2nd Oakdale - Joyce Slater, Patsy Rochester & Karen Leake 3rd Owston Hall - A Phillips, L Barnes & D Warrant

                                                    Photo's of all teams and more further down this page

The 11th & final YVLGA Competition of 2017, The President's Trophy Tri-Am , was held at Garforth GC. When the Competition Secretary & Treasurer arrived at 7.30am to set up the desk, it was looking very doubtful that there would be any golf played as it was raining very heavily. Anyway, the rain eased & the course was open.
There was an overfull field of 45 teams, however, one team withdrew on the day. The first team were out at 8.37am & set a cracking pace, completing the course in 3.5 hours, which was excellent. The last team were out just before 2.30pm & there were doubts they'd get round in daylight, but they managed to get in just before 6.30pm & see all the way to the 18th green! It did however take most teams 4 hours to get round. It rained on & off most of the day but faired up a bit later in the afternoon.
The President, Carol Atack had selected some lovely Osprey handbags & purses for the 3 team prizes & the table looked resplendent with a white cloth showing off the prizes & the very elegant Presidents Trophy.
Very many thanks to Margaret Pease & her team & to the Caterers for providing a non stop stream of food & drink for everyone. The course was in excellent condition & stood up to the inclement weather very well. Thanks to Penny Holroyd (Vets Competition Secretary) for manning the desk all day, with assistance from Helen Duckett (Vets Treasurer), Sarah Arrowsmith (Vets Vice Captain) & Rosie Cleave (Vets Committee Member).
The scores were very close indeed, with 5 teams all scoring 68 points. However, when the countbacks were done (all back 9's), it was the team of Judy Butler, Carol Simpson & Liz Jones of Malton & Norton GC that came out on top winning the President's Trophy & 1st prize from Karen Leake, Patsy Rochester & Joyce Slater of Oakdale GC, with A Phillips, D Warrant & L Barnes from Owston Hall GC in 3rd place. Congratulations to all the winners & to every one that played in the trying conditions

As there is no prize presentation the prizes will be presented at the YVLGA AGM at Sand Moor GC on Monday 16th October 2017 at 11.00am & we look forward to the 3 winning teams being present to receive their prizes from the YVLGA President Mrs Carol Atack

Thank you to everyone for playing in all the YVLGA Competitions in 2017 & we look forward to seeing everyone in 2018


1st & Winners of The President's Trophy - Malton & Norton GC - 68 points
Judy Butler (4), Carol Simpson (5), Liz Jones (9)
2nd - Oakdale GC - 68 points
Karen Leake (6), Patsy Rochester, Joyce Slater (9) - 68 points
3rd - Owston Hall GC - 68 points
D Warrant (13), A Phillips (15), L Barnes (17) - 68 points

                                                                 All team scores available to download 

                                                                                 MORE PHOTOS
















 Above: left The President & Captain at Pleasington GC May 2017 & right at Crosland Heath June 2017, The President starts off the matches                                                     
  The President with Bet Burns of Lancashire           At theJamboree Frilford Heath
  at Royal Lytham & St Annes GC June 2017

Year      President                                                             Winning Club                                 

Mrs N Hirst (Meltham)
Mrs B Gledhill (Halifax West End)
Mrs A Kay (Hallamshire)
2009 Mrs M Welsh (Scarcroft ) Rotherham
M/s C Withers (Dewsbury)
2013 Mrs M Durrans (Huddersfield) The Shipley
Mrs J Clark (Hallamshire)
Malton & Norton
2017Mrs C Atack (Garforth)
Malton & Norton