2022 Championship  :  Richmond (Yorks) Golf Club

April 26 - 28 2022











27th - 29th April 2021


 After the frustration of last year, it was wonderful to be able to set 104 competitors off in the qualifying round of the 2021 YVLGA Championships. Although the weather was rather cooler than it was just out of lockdown, conditions were fine until the end of the day when the last few groups were subjected to a downpour. Congratulations go to Karen Jobling (Richmond), winner of the Barrett Bowl for best gross of 74 & to Cathy Riley (Hallamshire), winner of the Elliott Trophy for best nett of 78 - 10 -68.


Wednesday morning was, again, set fair, but temperatures had plummeted & an uncomfortably cold & persistent wind plagued the competitors all day. 15 teams entered the Tri Am which was won by Lynn Wood, Muriel Bradley (Oakdale) & Sheila Minto (Bedale) with 79 points.


The matchplay section also started on Wednesday with most matches being settled before the 18th. The one exception was the 2nd round match between Karen Jobling & Heather Butcher as Heather sank a 25 foot putt on the 18th to take the match into overtime. Both just missed birdies on the 1st extra hole but Heather's second shot to around 10 feet on the par 5 second spelt the end of Karen's challenge this year.





Wakefield Golf Club was well-represented in the semi finals with Heather Butcher (playing in her first YVLGA Championship), Julie Wheeldon & Bet Sworowski. Angela Morris (Beverley) completed the line up for the last 4.  Both semis ended with 2& 1 scorelines which resulted in an all Wakefield final between Heather & Bet. After an early win on the 1st hole for Bet, the match remained very close with Bet inching away to 3 ahead the 9th. Although moving to 4 ahead on the 13th, Heather took the next 2 holes to reduce the deficit to 2 but was unable to continue the momentum & Bet held her nerve to win on the 17th by 3&1. Many congratulations to Bet on her first title & commiserations to Heather but what a wonderful performance in her first Championship.




I would like to express my sincere thanks to: 

  • My competitions team of Patsy Rochester & Joyce Slater who managed the Championship & the Tri Am with great efficiency & energy.
  • Oakdale Golf Club for allowing us to hold the Championship in these difficult times & all the clubhouse staff. 
  • Oakdale Lady Captain Rachel Smith & her army of Oakdale members who marshalled everyone to where they should be.
  • Mr Starter, John Dobinson, who was on duty all day on Tuesday & for the Tri Am on Wednesday in very cold conditions.
  • The greenkeeping staff who have struggled in the dry & cold conditions but presented the course in great condition.
  • YVLGA President Ros Lumb & my Vice Captain Penny Holroyd for their 6.00 am starts to be at the Cub for start of play.
  • Oakdale member Rosie Brassington who made the unique bowls for the qualifier prizes.
  • Oakdale member Helen Burns for the flowers on the presentation table.
I know there are some very tired ladies out there now but I hope you have all enjoyed it & I wish everyone success in the rest of the season.

 Karen Leake 


YVLGA Championship – Oakdale Golf Club 27th April - 29 2021








Karen Jobling (74)

Karen Jobling 6&5

Heather Butcher 2nd extra hole

Heather Butcher 2&1 








Bet Sworowski 3&1



Lynda Ireland (85)


Heather Butcher (80)

Heather Butcher 6&5

Fiona Wood (82)


Cathy Riley (78)

Cathy Riley 2&1

Angela Morris 3&2

Jayne Helliwell (83)


Angela Morris (79)

Angela Morris 3&2

Jackie Starkie (83)


Sue Dye (77)

Sue Dye 4&2

Julie Wheeldon 4&3

 Bet Sworowski 2&1



Alison Clark (84)


Judy Butler (80)

Julie Wheeldon 5&4

Julie Wheeldon (82)


Carol Simpson (78)

Bet Sworowski 5&3 

Bet Sworowski 8&7


Bet Sworowski (83)


Pat Wrightson (79)

Heather Staniforth 2&1

Heather Staniforth (83)

Best Gross & winner of the Barrett Trophy : Karen Jobling (Richmond) 74

Best Nett & winner of the Elliott Trophy: Cathy Riley (Hallamshire) 78 - 10 - 68

2nd nett - Jean Hall (Sand Moor) 91 - 22- 69

3rd nett - Susan Mannion (Moortown) 94 - 23 - 71

4th nett - Lynn Wood (Oakdale) 91 - 19 - 72 

Please click here for full gross scores 

Please click here for nett scores 


Tri Am Prizewinners

1st Lynn Wood (Oakdale), Sheila Minto (Bedale), Muriel Bradley (Oakdale) 79 points

2nd Penny Baxter (Oakdale), Jenny Kim (Leeds), Lyn Ellner (Sand Moor) 75 points 

Please click here for full Tri Am results.


           Patsy's dog, Bailey, sorting scorecards                    Freezing on the buggy on Wednesday! 




                               Please send us any Championship photos you may have