AM AM - Bingley St Ives, 26th July 2021


43 teams competed for the Dewsbury Centenary Trophy at in good conditions at Bingley St Ives Golf Club. Following an extended dry period, the winning scores were high & close between the 5 prizewinners.

Congratulations to the winners from Queensbury with 94 points - Shelagh Ralph, Jennifer Harris, Carol Bray, Joanne Ritchie

2nd - Janet Dyson, Shelia Aspinall, Helen Smithson, Elizabeth Cooper (Woodsome Hall) 93 points

3rd - Margaret  Forster, Rita Richardson, Kay Donoghue, Lorraine Raeburn (Skipton) 93 points

4th - Lesley Southwell, Linda Moore, Gail Witcomb, Gerry Callander (Pannal) 90 points

5th - Sally Cottle, Sharon Smith, Diane Bennett, Liz Pennington (Rawdon) 90 points 

Please click here for full results.

4BBB - Otley GC, 5th July 2021 


82 pairs competed for the YVLGA Trophy at Otley Golf Club on Monday 5th July. Weather conditions had been atrocious the day before but the course was still in fine condition for the competitors. A short downpour at midday spoilt the otherwise good weather on the day but didn't spoil the enjoyment too much. It was a close competition with excellent scoring & congratulations go to the winners, Melody Svenson & Kath Chivers from Ilkley on a countback with 41 points from local players Sadie Wilyman & Sue Ridyard. With only 3 points separating the first 6 places, it was a hotly contested competition. Thanks to all the starters & staff at Otley for their help in running a successful event.  Prizewinners were as follows:

1st Melody Svenson & Kath Chivers - Ilkley 41 points

2nd Sadie Wilyman & Sue Ridyard - Otley 41 points

3rd Katie Clark & Anne Gollogly - Saltburn 39 points

4th - Linda Smith & Elaine Richardson - Baildon 38 points

5th Cath Deighton & Susan Matthews - Woodhall Hills 38 points

6th Patricia Holt & Linda Whitwam - Crosland Heath 38 points

 Please click here for full results.



Over 65 / 75 Meeting - Easingwold GC, 21st June 2021 

82 Ladies played in the stableford competition held at Easingwold GC.

The winner of the Jean Gordon Rose Bowl and overall winner was Linda Moore (York GC) with an excellent score of 38 points from Mavis Burton (Thirsk & Northallerton) with 37 points (bb9) and Boo Orman (Harrogate) also with 37 points. Jill Tushingham (Otley GC) was forth with 36 points.

The winner of the Rosie Hickie Trophy and President’s Prize was Nancy Lightowlers.

There were 3 twos: Elizabeth Knox (Hallamshire), Judy Butler (Malton & Norton) and Jean Thornton (Wetherby).

A total of £141.78p was raised for the Lady Captain’s Charity (Action Medical Research) on the day with donations from the raffle and half-way house.

Many thanks to all who helped to make the day run so smoothly including the Lady Captain, Gilli Cliff, who was at the club from 0730 selling raffle tickets and manning the halfway house; the two Amy’s and the catering staff; James the professional, and the three starters – Derek, Bill and Peter.

For full results, please click here 

9 Hole Texas Scramble - Rawdon GC, 7 June 2021 

The YVLGA 9 -hole Texas scramble was held at Rawdon Golf Club on Monday 7 June 2021 with 34 teams taking part. All the ladies had a fabulous day helped by the warm sunny conditions despite the threat of localised showers.

The ladies enjoyed a very warm welcome by the members of Rawdon GC as well as the challenge of the golf. The Rawdon Ladies provided a cake stall and plant stall with proceeds towards the Lady captain’s Charity (Macmillan Cancer Support). All enjoyed sitting either in the newly renovated clubhouse or new patio area to socialise and enjoy the cakes!

YVLGA used the new England Golf & WHS formula to work out the handicap allowances for the competition together with a spread sheet to help with the calculations!

Many thanks to Lady Captain Denise Bennett, Vets’ rep Sally Cottle, Mr Captain, the greens staff, caterers, ladies who helped with the raffle, the bakers and those who helped to man the cake and plant stalls and the car park. All helped to ensure a really successful event.


1st  Outlane - Sandra Eastwood, Sue Littlewood, Diane Proctor, Julie Livesey - Nett 27

2nd  Lightcliffe - Belinda Wardingley, Helen Stobart, Judith Crowther, Pam Gradon - Nett 28

3rd Rudding Park - Liz Jones, Rosie Ellis-Robertson, Lorraine Forbes, Brenda Ashford - Nett 29

4th Rawdon - Sharon Smith, Sally Cottle, Denise Bennett, Helen Nicholson - Nett 30

5th Huddersfield - Pat Poole, Cherrie Myers, Amanda Hill, Debra Lucas - Nett 30







Thankfully, Boris confirmed the opening up of hospitality for today so we could welcome competitors inside the Clubhouse, albeit with masks & distance.


A full field of 42 teams competed in excellent conditions on a well-prepared course - thanks to the Greenkeeping staff. Also thanks to Scarborough South Cliff Lady Captain & her band of helpers - starters, Neil Wrigglesworth, Mary Ryan, Brenda Foreman & Gloria Pickering & raffle ticket sellers, Alison Lockwood,  June Syrett, Chris McMahon, Pam Ludolf & Janet Howes.


Congratulations to all the prizewinners:

1st Janet Tedstone, Linda Burnley, Denise Page, Helen Lambert - 84 points Winners of the Ethel Hartley Trophy

2nd Liz Tabel, Diane Appleyard, Pat Dawson, Liz Ripard - 80 points

3rd Dawn Cartwright, Val Hoyle, Margaret Arnold, Barbara Hanneman - 76 points

4th Carole Wright, Lisa Emberson, Sam Beattie, Christine Mosley - 75 points

5th Jules Wortley-Froggett, Joanna Bouvet, Caroline Jones, Patricia Davies  - 75 points 

Please click here for full results.

Vouchers will be distributed as soon as possible.


First Hole

After a year of no competitions, it was wonderful to be back playing in YVLGA events & the first ladies teed off at 9.30 on a gorgeous day at Kirbymoorside Golf Club. Many thanks to Manager Richard Carr & all the staff who made us so welcome, providing refreshments on the balcony. Also to Lady Captain Jane Cowie & her team of members who helped with starting etc. Our first time using the new software & hooking up with WHS appears to have gone relatively smoothly & all those who played should check for changes to their Handicap Index tomorrow.

Congratulations to Vanessa Thomas (Richmond), winner of the YVLGA Trophy with 39 points, & to Angela Hill (Bracken Ghyll) & Sue Smith (Oakdale) who were 2nd & 3rd respectively, both with 34 points.

Please click here to view all scores.

First players on the first tee

Kirkbymoorside Lady Captain Jane Cowie with Mavis Burton, Maggie Stockdale & Gilli Cliff